Hades – Alexandra Adornetto

coverBook review

Read: February 21 – March 02, 2017

It’s been a long time since I started with the Halo series, but 2017 is the year where I’ll finish a few series that I’ve started and this one made it on the list.

Synopsis

Beth and Xavier are enjoying being in love and making plans for the future. Wherever one goes, the other is there. When Beth decides to spend some time with her girlfriends, everything falls apart. She’s been kidnapped and brought to Hell. With no means of escape, nor a way to tell her love ones she’s not harmed, Beth is desperate to get back above ground. Therefore she needs to find out why she’s brought there and how far she’s willing to go to get her hearts desire.

My opinion

It took my quiet some time to get back into the story. I had forgotten the names of the characters which made me reread some passages for when I did remember. I hadn’t forgotten the relationship between Bethany and Xavier, and you couldn’t. Since the very beginning they’re talking about their love for each other and how well imprinted they want to keep their memories of moments together. It was a bit over the top for my liking.

The story progressed in a natural pace. Nothing too quick and it takes its time to develop the story. Because of the relaxed pacing of the story, there was a lot of focuss on worldbuilding – Or Hell building? – which made it easier to see the story in my mind’s eye.

What I find a miss was the characterbuilding of the bad guy. Even though being a demon and all, sometimes we see a part of developing some kindness and now at the end I’m wondering if it was all manipulation from his part. Scrap that, it was well done now in afterthought.

Almost at the end I wondered why there is a part three of the series – except for trilogies being the norm nowadays – but that was well introduced in the epilogue. However, I don’t feel the need to pick up part three anyway time soon, although I will because I want to finish the series.

Rating

★★★★☆

 

Anything to share?

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

